Home > Video Minutes (Bandwidth) > Why do my channels still consume video minutes although I deactivated them?

Why do my channels still consume video minutes although I deactivated them?

If a live-encoder loses internet connection or is shut off without first ending the stream, any good CDN will be programmed to “keep the lines open” in order to instantly resume the live-stream once the encoder is back online. This is necessary in order to ensure instant resuming of live-streams since live-encoders have the ability to lose internet connections temporarily. Such interruption by the live-encoder is called a “ungraceful disconnect” and can result in the CDN continuing to stream through the Live-Channel used by an encoder which “ungracefully disconnected”. 

For this reason it is very important for the live-stream manager to ensure a full stop of the transmission through the encoder’s software before shutting down the encoder or disconnecting. 

Our Live Streaming Tutorials in Lightcast.com Accounts as well as our Support Center provides a variety of support documents and articles describing how to avoid this. You can also submit a ticket at http://support.lightcast.com if you need help with disconnecting your live encoder properly.